Homemade Shrimp Tacos

So basically I found this recipe on Tasty, the Facebook page. I really loved the concept and thought it would be delicious so I decided to make it with some modifications to improve its health factor. The recipe is on the bottom of the post. 

I’m not a huge fan of spicy, so I omitted the spicy ingredients for the seasoning of the shrimp. I also am not a huge fan of zest because I feel it makes it a bit bitter so I omitted that in the dressing. The recipe also calls for sour cream so instead I used PLAIN Greek yogurt that tastes similar and is a lot healthier. The sauce also wants jalapeños and I omitted that as well. I also chose to only do one cabbage instead of 2 different kinds in order to save a bit of money since you won’t need the whole head and it would be a bit of a waste. Lastly, I didn’t use skewers because I didn’t have any and didn’t want to spend money on them, so I just put them on a sheet on the grill. This serves about 12 corn tacos. 

INGREDIENTS

Shrimp seasoning

  • 2 pounds shrimp, deveined & tails removed
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Creamy cilantro sauce

  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt 
  • 3 tablespoons cilantro, minced
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice

Cabbage filling

  • 3 cups red cabbage
  • 1/2 of the creamy sauce

PREPARATION

  1. In a large bowl, season shrimp with paprika, garlic powder, oregano and salt. Toss gently to combine.
  2. Grease tin foil with coconut oil and place on the tin to put on the grill. Put the shrimp on the tin nice and spread out.
  3. Grill over high heat for 3 minutes then flip, and let cook for an additional 3 minutes. Remove and set aside for taco assembly.
  4. In a bowl, combine all creamy cilantro sauce ingredients. Stir well to combine.
  5. In a large bowl, combine red cabbage, and half of the creamy sauce over the cabbage, saving the other half for extra sauce to put on the tacos.
  6. Assemble the tacos on corn tortillas. Add the cabbage mixture, followed by the shrimp. Top with the creamy cilantro sauce.
  7. Enjoy!

Recipe inspiration: https://www.buzzfeed.com/clairenolan/when-life-gives-you-lemons-make-these-grilled-shrimp-tacos?bffbtasty&utm_term=.nxL7Ln2M9X#.xplqepWY1A

One thought on “Homemade Shrimp Tacos

Leave a Reply

